Print Thread
Rate Thread
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
I have a general question for the boards based on overnight supervision and sneaking out of cabins. I am new to my camp and have just taken over in a leadership role. There seems to be a thought pattern among past staff, including some leadership staff that sneaking out is just part of the camp experience. I have also heard since some of our campers are aged 16-18 that there is nothing we can do to control that behavior. I have been hearing statements like “You can’t watch them 100% of the time and therefore you should just accept that this will happen.”
This goes against my experience as a camp director, I however have been out of the mix for about six years. It would seem to me that having campers unsupervised out of their bunks after lights out is a huge liability.
I am wondering what is some other camp’s experiences and how do they address overnight supervision Is there a way to do overnight supervision that doe not completely tax their staff. This is the biggest hurdle it seems as the current staff feel there is no way to do a good overnight supervision without burning and exhausting a portion of the staff.

Any Input would be helpful. I know how I want to handle this but I would like to get a larger feeling for the issue.

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Ben, I am shocked to hear this. I agree with you that it is a huge liability. We always have rovers for the hour after lights out. This was usually because the camp staff would meet in the staff lounge for some R&R whole a few of the staff would walk around and make sure that the campers were quiet and going to sleep. The staff got one hour and then had to be back in their cabins. So campers that wanted to sneak out would have to wait at least an hour after lights out and then half to wait fot their counselor(s) to fall asleep.