Rate Thread
#128047 03/06/15 05:37 AM
P
PsyGuy Offline OP
150 to 200 posts
OP Offline
150 to 200 posts
P
What is with camps and their crazy interview process?

I'm a teacher and I can't remember interviewing more than once with a principal, but I am consistently getting camps that want you to interview with 3 or more people. The staffing person, the owner, the camp director, or someone from your area. I'm not working for the CIA, its camp its a 2 month summer position and a few thousand dollars.
Add to that, applications that are forever. Why do I need to put all the 1,2,3 on a page long interest inventory if you're hiring me for the camp health center? Why all the questions about what I think i would bring to camp, or how would I best effect the lives of campers? I've been a teacher for 10 years what do they think, I do the other 10 months out of the year?

PsyGuy #128053 03/08/15 05:06 AM
More than 3,000 posts
More than 3,000 posts
I've only ever had 1 interview in 8 summers, for 4 different camps. However, I've worked Girl Scouts and Camp Fire and 1 of the camps I grew up at. I've never heard that any of them do second interviews. Granted, I don't know how many other people apply for the positions.

I've seen on here that some camps basically just give contracts to returners in the fall and say welcome back! Out of the camps I've worked at some required a returner application and 1 reference. My current camp and some other camps I know require the returner application and 3 references. Granted, unless something crazy comes up in this, they'll likely hire you if they planned on it based on what they know from previous summers, but gotta have the paperwork to back it up. Plus, 10 months is a long time in college (or any time in life) to have gotten up to some trouble or just change.