A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
\:\)

Dear Fellow Camp Friends:
I have been tasked to implement summer camps and track out camps (year round schools here in NC)for the country club I work for.

I have no experience and would love any suggestions, resources, websites etc.

I have noticed many camps in the area have themes for weeks. For example:

Interactive Elements
Magical Mayhem
Nature Nuts
Hollywood Bound
Ancient Adventure
Sports Mania
Super Soakin Safari
Around the World
Etc...

Great catchy titles but where do you get ideas of things to do with campers for 6 hours -- is their a website or book that helps with activities to do associated with these themes???

I greatly appreciate all your reponses and ideas!

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
www.ultimatecampresource.com has lots of ideas for games. I have found ideas from looking in catalogues for party stores or suppliers like S&S, I google things like "camp special events" or "pirate day" etc. just to see what pops up. Sometimes you can get ideas from knowing a little about your audience- you know that your kids like Harry Potter so it would probably not be too difficult to keep them entertained by having HP themed week.
I know planning the actual events for the week is tough when you don't know where to start, so I guess the questions I would consider are: What/how can I decorate? What games can we play/ can I rename games I already know to fit in with the theme? Do we know any songs? Can the menu reflect the theme? How much money can I spend? What can I use that we already have?
I try hard to involve lots of other people in the planning because special events and theme weeks take so much energy. If you like, check out this link: http://www.campmohawk.org/newsite/publish/overnight_events.shtml they're not weekly themes but some ideas for special events. Hope it helps!

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Nadine -
Many Thanks! I really appreciate it!

A