Rate Thread
#76959 01/09/01 12:51 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
I am looking for suggestions to continue my profesional development in the camping industry. I hope to become a camp director in the future. For the past 5 years I have worked for a small summer resident camp. Last year I was the youth director at my church. I have a degree in education and I currently teach. I am seeking a new career more focused in a recreational setting. What other jobs similar to this may be available? What should I start doing now to prepare for them?

#76960 01/09/01 08:14 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
I think that your first step should be joining the ACA. Your local Section Office will then give you all information necessary to further your professional development. Getting involved is one of the most important moves that a person can make in order to learn more about the camp movement.

#76961 01/16/01 05:07 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
I would also suggest, if you are definitely looking at camping, taking the ACA Basic Camp Directors Course...it will provide you with a solid foundation of all aspects of camping and expose you to a lot of things that you may not think of otherwise...you will also make some great networking contacts that will hopefully help you in the future. In the meantime, if your situation allows, work at different types of camps unitl you find a good fit....there are all sorts of camps out there, so find one that fits your gifts, talents, values,and interests. Good Luck!!

#76962 03/04/05 05:14 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A